Concealed Carry Course Info

Sutter County

  • Must be a resident of Sutter County and be able to show proof of residency. Only the following will be accepted to show proof of residency:
    • A valid and current California Driver’s License or Identification Card
    • Most recent voting record for Sutter County
    • Garbage, Water, Electric or Cable utility bill
    • Current property tax bill with homeowner’s exemption
    • Lease/Rental agreement from a Property Management company with contact information
    • Legal Resident of the United States.
    • Applicant must be 18 years of age or older.
    • No Statutory Prohibitions (based on applicant’s background, i.e., criminal history, drug addiction, any mental illness, etc.).
    • Must attend and succesfully complete a California Department of Justice approved training course. The instruction must be at least eight hours and include firearms safety and the law regarding the permissible use of a firearm. The course of training must also include qualification for all weapon types listed on the concealed weapon (CCW) permit. For a list of Sutter County approved CCW instructors, contact the Sutter County Sheriff’s Records Unit or the CCVV Coordinator.

Self protection is considered a good cause for the issuance of a CCW permit.

Conditions After Issuance

  • To have the permit renewed, the applicant must complete an updated course of training and the training shall be no less than four hours in length, and shall include instruction on at least firearm safety and the law regarding permissible use of a firearm.
  • Permit holder must report to the Sutter County Sheriff’s Office within 10 days of any arrest of the permit holder.
  • No illegal drug use.

Permits are invalid if you violate any of the following

  • No alcohol consumption while exercising the permit and carrying the weapon.
  • No weapons where prohibited by law i.e. State Capital Building, public or private schools, colleges or universities, some Federal lands and Airports.
  • No weapons at locations where a “No Weapons Signs” are posted or other means of detection are present (metal detectors, wands, active searches of belongings, etc.).

Yuba County

  • Be a resident of Yuba County
  • Be a legal resident of the United States
  • Complete the California DOJ Standard Application for a License to Carry a Concealed Weapon
  • Provide documentation of successfully passing a course of training as described in Section 23165 of the Penal Code from one of our approved course instructors
  • Pay required fees (Basic Initial CCW Permit Fees: $205.00 and Renewal CCW Permit Fees: $65.00 plus vendor transaction processing fee)

Placer County

Answering all the questions on this standard application does not guarantee the issuance of a Concealed Carry Weapon license. The determination whether to issue the license is at the discretion of the licensing authority. Pursuant to California Penal Code section 26160, each licensing authority will have a written policy summarizing their requirements for issuance of a Concealed Carry Weapon license. In addition, prior to issuing a Concealed Carry Weapon license, the state statutes require proof that:

  • The applicant is of good moral character;
  • Good cause exists to issue the Concealed Carry Weapon license;
  • The applicant meets residence requirements; and
  • The course of training prescribed by the licensing authority has been completed.

The following pages include standardized questions to determine whether a Concealed Carry Weapon license shall be issued.

The applicant will certify under penalty of perjury that all answers provided in the application are true and correct to the best of their knowledge and belief. The applicant will also acknowledge that information disclosed on this application may be subject to public disclosure.

Training Required

If applying for a NEW Concealed Carry Weapon license, an 8-hour firearms training course must be completed and dated within 90 days of issuance to be valid.

If applying for a RENEWAL Concealed Carry Weapon license completion of a 4-hour firearms training course is required and must be dated within 90 days of issuance to be valid.

If applying for a firearms MODIFICATION a scanned copy of the qualification certificate is required and must be dated within 90 days of issuance to be valid.

Pricing

  • The administrative cost for a New Concealed Carry Weapon license is $100.00. An applicant will pay a non-refundable $20 application fee, and if approved, be asked to pay an additional $80 prior to receiving their Concealed Carry Weapon license.
  • A Standard Renewal of a Concealed Carry Weapon license costs $77.
  • Any Modification (e.g. residence or firearm change) to a Concealed Carry Weapon license costs $10.

Sacramento County

Training Requirements: Renewal training and New Permit training must be completed within six months of the issuance of the CCW Permit. New Applicants are directed NOT to take their training and qualification courses prior to receiving contingent approval of their application. The following is an overview of training requirements necessary to obtain or renew a CCW Permit in Sacramento County:

New CCW Permits: 16-hour training course that includes instruction on firearm safety and the law regarding the permissible use of a firearm. You must qualify with each firearm you want listed on your CCW Permit (maximum 3 firearms).

CCW Permit Renewals (every 2 years): Prior to renewal, complete a 4-hour legal firearms update refresher course. Qualify with each firearm you want listed on your CCW Permit.

Range Qualifications: You must qualify biennially (every two years) or upon renewal of your permit with the firearms listed on your permit. If you want to add or remove firearms from your permit, a qualification is required on each firearm you want listed on the permit.

Pricing

  • The administrative cost for a New Concealed Weapon Permit is $100.00. An applicant will pay a non-refundable $20 application fee, and if approved, be asked to pay an additional $80 prior to receiving their Concealed Weapon Permit.   After you have been approved by the CCW Committee, you will be asked to complete the LiveScan Fingerprinting at one of our facilities to initiate the DOJ/FBI background checks.  This costs $130 ($93 DOJ fee + $37 Sheriff’s Office rolling fee).
  • A Standard Renewal of a Concealed Weapon Permit costs $77.
  • Any Modification (e.g. residence or firearm change) to a Concealed Weapon Permit costs $10.

Yolo County

New CCW Permits: 16-hour training course that includes instruction on firearm safety and the law regarding the permissible use of a firearm. You must quality with each firearm you want listed on your CCW Permit (maximum of 4 firearms)

Renewals (every 2 years): Prior to renewal, complete a 4-hour legal firearms update refresher course. Qualify with each firearm you want listed on your CCW Permit.

Range Qualifications: You must qualify biennially (every two years) with the firearms listed on your permit. If you want to add or remove firearms from your permit, a qualification certificate is required for each firearm you want listed on the permit.

Pricing

  • The administrative cost for a New Concealed Carry Weapon license is $325.00. An applicant will pay a non-refundable $65 application fee, and if approved, be asked to pay an additional $260 prior to receiving their Concealed Carry Weapon license.
  • A Standard Renewal of a Concealed Carry Weapon license costs $90.
  • Any Modification (e.g. residence or firearm change) to a Concealed Carry Weapon license costs $10.

Arizona

Who may apply for an Arizona Concealed Carry License?
Applicants must:

  •  be a resident of this state or a United States citizen;
  • be twenty-one years of age or older or is at least nineteen years of age and provides evidence of current military service or proof of honorable discharge or general discharge   under honorable conditions from the United States Armed Forces, United States Armed Forces Reserve or a State National Guard.
  • not be under indictment for a felony offense;
  • not be convicted of a felony offense, unless the conviction has been expunged, set aside, vacated or pardoned, or the individuals right to possess firearms has be restored AND the individual must not be a prohibited possessor under state or federal law.
  • not suffer from mental illness and been adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution;
  • not be unlawfully present in the United States;
  • complete a firearms safety training program pursuant to A.R.S. 13-3112.N.

Note: Persons who were born outside of the United States or one of its territories must send a copy of proof of citizenship or alien status. Any of the following documents are acceptable:

  • Certificate of Naturalization
  • Resident Alien Card
  • Record of Birth Abroad to US citizens
  • Record of Birth Abroad to Armed Forces Personnel
  • US Passport

Applications with errors or containing incomplete information will be returned for correction.

Allow 75 days for the Department to process your application. If you have not received your permit or notification from the department regarding your application after 75 days please contact the Concealed Weapons Permit Unit.

Once you have received your permit, inspect it for errors. If you find an error, return the permit along with a completed copy of the CWPU “Error on Permit Form” available under printable forms on this website.

Note: All changes of address and phone numbers must be reported in writing to the CWPU within 10 days of the change. Utilize the “Change Form” available under printable forms on this webiste.